Travel Award Accepting Applications Through March 31

Now through March 31, 2016, APA Librarian Conference Travel Award will be accepting applications for conferences taking place from May to August 2016.

The award is intended to help defray conference-related expenses for librarians with less than 15 years of experience after receiving their MLS. Three cash awards are distributed three times each calendar year, and the application cycle opens and closes on a rolling basis. At this time, we are not limiting the conferences that are eligible for travel award funding. Applicants should identify the conference that best meets their professional needs, and explain how attendance will support their current duties and future goals.

Please see the website for more details on eligibility, deadlines, and application materials. Questions about the APA Librarian Conference Travel Award should be directed to Please help us spread the word by sharing this information with colleagues and friends who may be eligible!

Conference Travel Awards for Librarians

By now you’ve read about Helen Hough, the recipient of the 2015 Award for Excellence in Librarianship. Coming up on the 10th year of this award, we took stock of the program and decided it was a good time to refocus our efforts. As a result, the 2015 award will mark the end of the Excellence in Librarianship award program, and we’ve been working to establish a new program that will enable APA to affect your professional development in a totally new way.

The APA Library Conference Travel Award will support early and mid-career librarians who are seeking to attend select library conferences in order to grow as professionals. For most conferences, preference will be given to those whose regular job responsibilities include working closely with students, faculty, clinicians and researchers in the behavioral sciences. Application criteria and deadlines will be available in the coming weeks.

Recipients of the APA Award for Excellence in Librarianship
2007: Mark Stover
2008: Anne Wade, MLIS
2009: Marietta Plank, MLS
2010: Brian Quinn, MS
2011: David Baker, MED, PhD
2012: Alice Brand Bartlett, MLS, PhD
2013: Stuart Moss, MLS
2014: Fred Lerner, DLS
2015: Helen Hough, MLS